Jane Chamberlin Award

General Information

The Jane Chamberlin Award was created to recognize outstanding achievement in Mental Health relating to General Hospitals / Schedule I’s in Ontario. Each year members of the AGHPS are invited to nominate a candidate for the award.


Jane Chamberlin was an Executive Director for the Association of General Hospital Psychiatric Services. Upon her death it was decided to honour her by bestowing an award in her name to someone who has given of themselves toward the betterment of mental health services within General Hospitals / Schedule I facilities. It is awarded in conjunction with the Jane Chamberlin Lecture at the Ontario Psychiatric Association Annual Conference.


The Jane Chamberlin Award recognizes a person that embodies the spirit of this award - outstanding achievement in mental health relating to General Hospital and/or Schedule I Hospitals. This could be manifested in a great variety of ways and we purposely do not restrict the criteria. Examples -

  • Leadership in developing ways to improve outcomes and reduce stigma
  • Efforts to impact the lives and outcomes for those presenting to hospital
  • Awareness, education, information that has made a difference
  • Outstanding clinical practice
  • Provincial leadership in an area of practice

Every nomination received is considered on the basis of whether or not the individual nominated has made a significant contribution above and beyond professional duties. This could be a single outstanding contribution or continuous contributions over a career.

To nominate a colleague for the Jane Chamberlin Award please contact the AGHPS office at for more details

Recipients of the Jane Chamberlin Award

The AGHPS is proud to acknowledge the following recipients:

1999 Dr. John Nkansah 2000 Dr. Bob Buckingham
2001 Dr. Lucien Faucher 2002 Dr. Pat Conlon
2003 Dr. Gerry McNestry 2004 Dr. Tyrone Turner
2005 The Honourable James K. Bartleman, O.Ont.
Lieutenant Governor of Ontario
2006 Dr. Douglas Weir
2007 Dr. Joel Jeffries 2008 Dr. Paul Links
2009 Dr. David Gotlib 2010 Mr. Bruce Whitney
2011 Dr. Brian Hoffman 2012 Dr. Sonu Gaind
2013 Ms. Penny Cardno 2014 Ms. Linda Peever
2015 Ms. Paula Reaume-Zimmer 2016 Dr. Gary Chaimowitz
2017  No recipient 2018 Ms. Gwendolyn Devereaux